I’m back!

Sorry if the blog has been a bit quiet lately. Aside from the (well deserved) career break P!nk is taking, I’ve also been traveling. My last blog post titled “I’m heading for Melbourne’s Rod Laver Arena” expressed the hope that I would see some of the P!nk memorabilia located around the Rod Laver Arena to celebrate her record breaking Australian tours. I gave myself what I believed were two excellent opportunities to complete my mission.

The first opportunity was located in a tourism booklet promoting Melbourne. Listed amongst the venues that would be visited as part of a sports tour, was the Rod Laver Arena. After seeing Flemington and the MCG, we finally reached the Rod Laver Arena. I understood that the behind the scenes tour of the venue would focus on tennis as it is the main sport held there, but I figured that we would pass at least one of the P!nk plaques situated around the building. I thought it would be mentioned as a side comment for the sports crazy fans. To be fair, we did see a lot of behind the scenes areas of the venue, including the tennis locker rooms used for the Australian Open and the inside of the VIP corporate boxes, but it wasn’t what I was hoping for. It was however, a chance to say that I was in the very same building that P!nk made history (twice)!

IMG_4366

IMG_4285My second opportunity came in the form of a Katy Perry concert. I do not want this to turn into a P!nk vs Katy Perry debate, but lets just say that I saw a lot of familiar ideas which frustrated me. This person on Twitter summed it up so well that I thought it deserved a re-tweet and a mention on this blog…

Obviously I am not a fan of Katy Perry, I only went to the concert to try and glimpse some P!nk history. Furthermore the above tweet only highlights one of the similarities I noticed throughout the show.

I am pleased to say that enduring the Katy Perry concert brought some success to my mission. I did manage to locate a P!nk plaque near Door 18 which is still painted pink in honour of the 18 shows that P!nk performed at the venue last year (though the graphics which are seen in the picture below have since been removed).

523. 2013Here is the unflattering photo of me, complete with dreadful lighting that created reflections all over the plaque (gotta love the classy toilet sign too).

IMG_4463I was surprised that I couldn’t locate the P!nk star at the front entrance. I did look around quite a bit but didn’t spot it. Is there anything that the Rod Laver Arena needs to share with P!nk fans? If (emphasis on use of the word ‘if’) the star has been removed it would be hugely disrespectful and disappointing for all P!nk fans and reflect very poorly on the venue.

I’m glad to be home and I did enjoy my trip to Melbourne, despite not fully completing my P!nk mission.

Leave a comment