Taking photos at Pink

Last week I attended two Pink concerts. I am so grateful that I was able to see her not once, but twice. Since I took a lot of photos the first show, I decided not to take my camera to the second concert. I had heard experiences and advice from fans in Europe and America who were able to go more than once, and was a little disappointed in my engagement and overall experience of the first concert. Within the first five minutes of the second concert I was glad of my decision. Perhaps the different seats had an impact, but I felt so much more connected with what was happening on stage.

Watching through a camera lens is not the same as watching it with undivided attention. Don’t think about keeping the camera steady, the zoom, the clarity of the picture or the batteries. Just watch the stage and don’t take your eyes off her for a second. At times during the second concert I found myself watching the screen and getting frustrated that it kept changing camera views. This was a reminder to watch the real thing on stage, not the screen. Fortunately I was able to do this as I had good seats for both concerts, particularly the second one, even though it was a side view.

Basically my advice to anyone who is lucky enough to attend more than one show, is to think about whether or not to take a camera to all of concerts you attend. Of course it is a personal decision, but photos from one show should be enough. There are also heaps of pictures available online that were taken from the front row which you can enjoy. The concert goes so quickly! If you spend it behind the lens of a camera you will probably miss out on a lot of the experience and you will likely regret it.

Leave a comment